Debt Management Forum - Mortgage only after DMP free for 6 years
About Us Contact Us Debt Management Companies Do I Qualify For Debt Management Debt Management Forum
Debt Management Forum
Debt Management Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums

Debt Management Plan Forum
 Mortgage only after DMP free for 6 years
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Springtime
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 13 Mar 2014 :  21:49:26  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Our situation is challenging to say the least. I am a contractor of 3 years with a healthy and lengthy contract. We are in year 4 of a 6 year DMP with Payplan, 6 defaults from the beginning of the DMP and 1 CCJ settled 2 years ago. We are a homeowner with an unblemished payment history over the last 11 years.
I understand our situation will preclude most lenders, so finding a mortgage for a new house is a long shot and that the repayments will be extremely high, but we are well capable of taking this hit for a year or two whilst we repair our credit.
We have had a number of 'advisors' who simply will not touch us. We think we have an advisor who uses a mortgage packager who, once proven our affordability, thinks he can source a mortgage for us. We are currently waiting for an answer on this.
However, I want to throw open one particular answer that we received from more than one advisor...."With a DMP you will have to wait 6 years after it has ended, before this mortgage company will touch you". This is incredible as this mortgage company offers "near prime" mortgages in spite of "CCJ's, Defaults, mortgage or secured loan arrears".
If only we had discovered that for 6 years after FINISHING a DMP we would still be treated like a financial lepor, then maybe we would have considered a bankruptcy or IVA.

Phil Corfield
Debt Management Expert

897 Posts